Why did Douthit shoot at own basket? Chot explains


Posted at Sep 29 2014 12:35 PM | Updated as of Sep 29 2014 08:35 PM

Marcus Douthit (R) of Gilas Pilipinas makes a move against Qatar's Erfan Saeed and Yasseen Musa

MANILA, Philippines – Gilas Pilipinas resorted to shooting at its own basket to try and force overtime against Kazakhstan Sunday in a last-ditch bid to salvage its campaign in the 2014 Asian Games in Incheon, South Korea.

Leading 67-65 with seconds to go, naturalized center Marcus Douthit scored an "own goal" to try and tie the game and force overtime, but his shot was nullified by the referee.

Gilas went on to win, 67-65, but failed to qualify to the medal round as they needed to win by at least 11 points to keep their hopes alive.

"Unfortunately, we had to do something like that because we had to survive," Gilas coach Chot Reyes explained after the game, as quoted by philstar.com.

FIBA rules state that "if a player deliberately scores a field goal in his team's basket, it is a violation and the field goal does not count."

Team captain Jimmy Alapag could be seen talking to a referee before making the inbound pass that led to Douthit's lay-up, and Reyes later said they asked the official if the shot would be allowed.

"We asked the referee from Korea or Japan about it, and it was allowed," Reyes said. "So we did it."

"The Iranian ref nullified it," he added.

Gilas led by as much as 18 points in the game, 50-32, and were ahead by 11 points late before giving up a 9-0 run to Kazakhstan to end the game.

"We had to win by 11," Reyes said. "As usual, we fizzled out again in the end. We didn't have enough gas to finish strong."

"We won, but we really lost," he said.