UAAP: UST, La Salle still unbeaten in beach volleyball


Posted at Sep 28 2019 03:34 PM

UAAP: UST, La Salle still unbeaten in beach volleyball 1
De La Salle University ties with UST in the top spot of the UAAP Season 82 women's beach volleyball tournament with identical 4-0 record. UAAP Media Bureau Photo

Four-peat seeking University of Santo Tomas and De La Salle University posted contrasting wins to remain unbeaten in the UAAP Season 82 Women's Beach Volleyball Tournament Saturday at Sands SM By The Bay.

The Golden Tigresses' Babylove Barbon and Gen Eslapor made quick work of Adamson University's Kring Uy and Chen Ave, 21-10, 21-9, to extend their dominant winning run to four matches and 22nd consecutive since 2016.

The Lady Spikers also improved to 4-0, but Tin Tiamzon and Justine Jazareno needed three sets to top Far Eastern University's Sheena Gallentes and Sheila Mae Kiseo, 21-23, 21-10, 15-10.

"We have the potential naman to go far in this tournament and I’m proud of my teammates kasi marami kaming pinaghirapan through training," Tiamzon said.

The Lady Tamaraws fell to third place at 3-1.

Ateneo's Ponggay Gaston and Roma Mae Doromal made quick work of National University's Andrea Abian and Chlea dela Fuente, 21-10, 21-8, to seize solo fourth place.

The Lady Eagles have won their last two matches after opening the season at 0-2.

FEU got a lifeline after Kiseo delivered the goods late in the second set, but De La Salle overcame a 0-3 start, with Tiamzon taking over, scoring back-to-back hits for a 10-8 lead. 

Tiamzon and rookie Jazareno then delivered the key kills to seal the deal for the Lady Spikers

In the other women's match, University of the Philippines finally entered the win column, as Rosie Rosier and Euri Eslapor outlasted University of the East's Lyen Ritual and Juliet Catindig, 12-21, 21-18, 15-13. 

The Lady Maroons tied their victims and the Lady Falcons for fifth to seventh places at 1-3, while the Lady Bulldogs remained winless in four contests.

For more sports coverage, visit the ABS-CBN Sports website.