UAAP: Ateneo, UP continue to cruise in women's badminton


Posted at Sep 23 2019 12:56 PM

Ateneo's Beatrice Felizardo helped the Lady Eagles stay unbeaten in UAAP Season 82 badminton. UAAP

MANILA, Philippines – Defending champion Ateneo de Manila University and University of the Philippines (UP) extended their perfect starts to 3-0 after blanking separate foes in the UAAP Season 82 women's badminton tournament, Sunday afternoon at the PNP Sports Center.

The Lady Eagles have won 15 straight matches, after dealing University of the East (UE) a 5-0 beating.

Ateneo co-captain Chanelle Lunod opened the day by cruising past Patrice Reyes in 24 minutes at 21-6, 21-10 in the first singles match. Fellow skipper Geva De Vera likewise waylaid Graziel Cabriga in the following rubber at 21-12, 21-6.

Rookie Mika De Guzman and the returning Qianxi Orillaneda then clinched the eighth consecutive win of Ateneo stemming from last season with an impressive outing at 21-3, 21-10 over Reyes and Justine Amposta.

Sam Ramos and Geia De Vera dominated Kessara Palot and Cabriga, 21-4, 21-17, before Amposta was forced to retire with Aly Roxas leading 18-8 at the first game due to an awkward fall resulting to a hamstring injury.

De Vera was pleased with how they are performing so far this season and hopes they can sustain it the rest of the way.

"Everyone's playing great naman. Nagagawa nila 'yung plays nila, which is 'yun naman ang aim, to show our plays individually. Hindi namin iisipin 'yung iba, 'yung sa sarili namin muna,” she said.

"We're still work in progress pa rin talaga, so we're aiming for more positive outcomes."

UP also stayed undefeated with a 5-0 win over University of Santo Tomas (UST), capped by a win from former Tigress Shuttler Airish Macalino.

Jaja Andres and Aldreen Concepcion had to outlast Kristeen Geronimo and Elij Pena to put the Lady Maroons in the lead at 2-0. Andres came back from a set down to upend Geronimo, 13-21, 21-13, 21-11, before Concepcion stopped Pena's late run in the third at 21-6, 14-21, 21-18.

Andres and fellow sophomore Tricia Opon kept UP's winning streak after sweeping Samantha Chozas and Therese Tumbali at 21-13, 21-11.

Rookies Marie Lopez and Andrea Abalos convincingly won over Geronimo and Stephanie Mortera at 21-10, 21-12, before Macalino won over Mortera at 21-13, 21-13.

Keeping in step with the leaders, De La Salle University claimed their second win this season after a 4-1 triumph over Adamson University.

Captain and national team standout Iyah Sevilla shook off Lizette Dela Cueva in the first singles match at 21-9, 21-18, before Clydel Pada leveled the outing for the Lady Falcons with a 21-14, 21-12 sweep of Palma Cruz.

That was Adamson's last hurrah as the two doubles pairs of La Salle took care of the tie.

Sevilla and Kanna Baba gunned down Pada and Monica Magallanes at 21-14, 21-15 in the first of the doubles rubber. Afterward, Cruz and Mia Mangulimotan swept Chloe Pedraja and Jhay Anne Macabenta at 21-10, 21-7. Baba completed the rout for the Lady Shuttlers after a 21-8, 21-18 conquest of Janine San Ignacio.

For more sports coverage, visit the ABS-CBN Sports website.