San Beda rules NCAA swimming for 14th straight year


Posted at Sep 21 2015 04:54 PM | Updated as of Sep 22 2015 01:07 AM

MANILA, Philippines – The San Beda College men's swimming team extended its domination of the NCAA to a 14th straight year, while its women's team completed a four-peat in the Season 91 swimming event that concluded over the weekend at the Rizal Memorial Swimming Center.

The Sea Lions, anchored by Joshua Junsay, tallied a total of 1,374 points in the three-day meet to dominate the event for their league-record 14th straight men's swimming championship, and a league-best 18th overall.

De La Salle-College of St. Benilde was a distant second with 608.5 points, while Emilio Aguinaldo College finished in third place with 252.5 points.

The Sea Lionesses, meanwhile, amassed 1,123.5 points, surviving the serious challenge put up by the Lady Blazers, who had 1,000.5 points to settle for second place.

In third place were the Lady Admirals with 251.5 points.

Junsay went on to win the MVP and Record-breaker awards in the men's division, while Ma. Aresa Lipat of CSB won the women's MVP plum for the third consecutive year.

In the juniors division, CSB-La Salle Greenhills won the crown for the 12th consecutive year after totaling 1,102 points.

San Beda, headed by juniors MVP Baste Arcilla, was in second place with 836.5 points.

For more sports stories, visit the ABS-CBN Sports website