Superliga: F2 Logistics sweeps Cignal to claim AFC throne

ABS-CBN Sports

Posted at Aug 28 2019 03:53 PM | Updated as of Aug 28 2019 04:39 PM

Superliga: F2 Logistics sweeps Cignal to claim AFC throne 1
F2 Logistics completed a best-of-three Finals sweep over Cignal to rule the 2019 Philippine Superliga All-Filipino Conference.

F2 Logistics proved too much for Cignal, 25-14, 25-16, 25-19, in Game Two of the best-of-three Finals series as the Cargo Movers ruled the 2019 Philippine Superliga All-Filipino Conference at the MOA Arena on Tuesday.

Kalei Mau, Kim Dy and Majoy Baron did the damage for F2 Logistics, which made sure to not to give Cignal a chance to recover like in Game One.

The Cargo Movers, who escaped the HD Spikers, 25-22, 26-24, 18-25, 17-25, 15-8, in the series opener on Saturday, bagged their fourth PSL title overall and first AFC crown since 2016.

“Ito ‘yung lagi kong sinasabi sa players na meron tayong unfinished business. So ngayon well nakuha namin,” said head coach Ramil De Jesus, who for the past two seasons fell prey to Petron in the AFC championship series. “Palagi kaming nasa Finals pero palaging parang banderang-kapos.”

“Talagang very happy kami eto nakuha na namin yung talagang goal namin,” he added.

Conference Most Valuable Player and Best Scorer Kalei Mau fired 19 points coming off 17 kills, an ace and a kill block to lead the Cargo Movers. Dy had nine spikes and four kill blocks for 13 markers while 2nd Best Middle Blocker Majoy Baron and Ara Galang chipped in with six points each for F2 Logistics.

“We had a strong mindset,” said Mau, who signed with the Cargo Movers before the start of the AFC after Cocolife disbanded. “We said, we needed to get a rhythm and we needed the momentum to get on 'em early and I thought we did really well on the defensive end and the offensive took care of itself.”

F2 Logistics’ championship experience and composure showed right from the opening serve as the Cargo Movers build a comfortable lead every start of the set to dictate the momentum of the game.

Jovelyn Gonzaga finished with nine points to pace the HD Spikers, who advanced to the Finals by trumping no. 4 seed Generika-Ayala in the knockout quarterfinals before dethroning twice-to-beat top seed Petron in the Final Four. Best Setter winner Alohi Robins-Hardy tallied 20 excellent sets on top of seven points for Cignal.

Meanwhile, Cignal’s Rachel Anne Daquis won the 1st Best Open Spiker award, Petron’s Sisi Rondina was named 2nd Best Open Spiker, Foton’s Jaja Santiago got the 1st Best Middle Blocker while Dindin Santiago-Manabat was named Best Opposite Hitter while Jheck Dionela of Cignal received the Best Libero recognition.

This story was originally published on the ABS-CBN Sports website.