PBA: TNT's Jayson Castro is the Best Player of the Conference

Camille B. Naredo, ABS-CBN News

Posted at Aug 11 2019 06:41 PM | Updated as of Aug 11 2019 07:08 PM

PBA: TNT's Jayson Castro is the Best Player of the Conference 1
Jayson Castro (17) is the Best Player of the Conference. ABS-CBN Sports.

MANILA – (UPDATED) TNT KaTropa veteran Jayson Castro has been named the Best Player of the Conference for the 2019 PBA Commissioner's Cup.

Castro received his award ahead of Game 4 of the best-of-seven Finals on Sunday, where TNT is looking for a 3-1 series lead against the San Miguel Beermen.

This is Castro's fifth BPC trophy in his PBA career. He previously won the award in the 2012-13 Philippine Cup, the 2014 Commissioner's Cup, the 2015 Commissioner's Cup, and the 2016 Governors' Cup.

"The Blur," who has been twice named to the all-tournament team in the FIBA Asia Championship, averaged 14.7 points, 6.0 assists, and 5.3 rebounds per game through the semifinals. The KaTropa cruised to the elimination round, ending up with a 10-1 win-loss record to take the top seed.

The 33-year-old Castro beat out San Miguel's June Mar Fajardo, and the rookie trio of Robert Bolick (NorthPort), CJ Perez (Columbian Dyip), and Ray Parks Jr. (Blackwater Elite) for the award.

Castro was only in third place in the statistical race, as his 33.7 average statistical points put him behind Parks (37.2) and Perez (35.1). Fajardo was in fourth, with 32.9 SPs, while Bolick placed fifth with 32.46 SPs.

But Castro won the media vote as well as that of the PBA's, to finish with a total of 1,077 points. Fajardo was a distant second with 762 points, having gotten the most votes from the players and finishing second in the media vote.

Parks was third with 576 points, followed by Perez (428) and Bolick (421).

Below is the breakdown of the voting for the Best Player of the Conference award, as well as the Best Import trophy:

For more sports coverage, visit the ABS-CBN Sports website.