Bambol Tolentino, Philip Ella Juico to contest PH Olympic body presidency


Posted at Jul 25 2019 06:23 PM

The head of cycling's national governing body, and the national track-and-field chief are contesting the Philippine Olympic Committee presidency in an election that will take place Sunday, July 28.

Abraham "Bambol" Tolentino, president of the Integrated Cycling Federation of the Philippines (PhilCycling), and Philip Ella Juico, Tolentino's counterpart at the Philippine Athletics Track and Field Association, were the candidates whose names were submitted by Thursday's deadline.

Tolentino's ticket includes Robert Aventajado as POC chairman, and Cynthia Carrion and Monico Puentevella as board members.

Aventajado, Carrion and Puentevella head the national bodies of taekwondo, gymnastics and weightlifting, respectively.

On Juico's side are Steve Hontiveros as chairman, and Clint Aranas and Lani Velasco as board members. Hontiveros, Aranas and Velaso lead the national associations of handball, archery and swimming, respectively.

Tolentino and Juico have 2 days to campaign. The elections will be held at Century Park Hotel in Manila.

"My immediate goal is to help ensure the success of the country’s hosting of the 30th Southeast Asian Games by working closely with the government through the (Philippine Sports Commission) within the framework defined by the highest authorities," said Juico, a former PSC president.

Tolentino said he will focus on fixing the POC administrative crisis.

"I'm officially running for (POC) president so that this (leadership mess wil be over," he said.

Tolentino, who represents the 8th district of Cavite in the Lower House, was the POC chairman under former committee president Ricky Vargas, before Vargas and subsequently Tolentino resigned.

The committee overseeing the elections is composed of lawyer Teodoro Kalaw IV, Vic Calvo of Letran, and party-list Congressman Conrado Estrella.

To make sure a smooth conduct of polls, the International Olympic Committee and the Olympic Council of Asia will again send India Olympic Committee president Dr. Narinder Dhruv Batra as an observer.

A total of 46 POC regular members made up of 44 national sports associations, 2 representatives of the athletes commission, and IOC representative Mikee Cojuangco-Jaworski will cast their votes.

For more sports coverage, visit the ABS-CBN Sports website.