Cycling: PH's best riders vie for national championship


Posted at Jul 22 2019 11:58 AM

MANILA, Philippines – The cream of the crop, together with the up-and-coming of Philippine cycling, will converge in Tagaytay City on Tuesday to vie for honors in the 2019 National Road Cycling Championships.

The National Championships will kick off with the individual time trial and team time trial races in the Men and Women Elite and Junior categories.

The championships will conclude with the road races on Wednesday, on an out-and-back course from Tagaytay City covering the Batangas municipalities of Nasugbu, Tuy, Lemery, Agoncillo, Balayan, Lian, Talisay, Calaca and Laurel.

PhilCycling president Abraham Tolentino will send off the competitors along with Tagaytay City Mayor Agnes Tolentino.

The races will also serve as a dry run for the 30th Southeast Asian Games cycling competitions set from November 30 to December 11. Besides the road races, Tagaytay City will also host the mountain bike and BMX events of the SEA Games.

"With close to 300 riders joining the national championships, it goes to show that competitive cycling is very much alive in the Philippines," said Tolentino. "Cycling remains as an active and enduring sport Filipinos love to practice."

Registration for the Men Elite and Under 23 reached 114 riders, while 22 cyclists were booked in the Women's division.

For more sports coverage, visit the ABS-CBN Sports website.