Kim Fajardo named to PSL All-Star for FIVB tourney


Posted at Jul 17 2016 05:24 PM

Kim Fajardo shows her 'golden ticket' to become a member of the Philippine Superliga All-Star team. ABS-CBN Sports

MANILA, Philippines – Kim Fajardo of F2 Logistics is the third player to be named to the Philippine Superliga (PSL) All-Star team that will compete in the FIVB Women's Club World Championship from October 18-23 at the Mall of Asia Arena in Pasay City.

Fajardo was officially presented with the "golden ticket" by PSL president Ramon "Tats" Suzara and chairman Philip Ella Juico on Sunday.

The 22-year-old Fajardo, a two-time UAAP champion from De La Salle University and a two-time UAAP Best Setter, joins the RC Cola-Army pair of Jovelyn Gonzaga and Rachel Anne Daquis in the All-Star team.

"She's young and overflowing with potential," Suzara said of Fajardo. "Exposure in a high-caliber tournament such as the FIVB Women's CWC will have a massive impact on her career and to the rise of Philippine volleyball in general."

"We expect Kim to do everything to make us proud," he added.

(READ: Daquis as face of PH volleyball in FIVB World Championship)

Juico, meanwhile, referred to Fajardo as "the Philippines' setter of the future."

"This is a golden opportunity for her not only to prove her mettle, but also to gain experience that she can apply in helping us in major international tournaments, including the Southeast Asian Games in 2019," Juico added.

The PSL will recruit four additional players and seven imports to make up the 14-player pool for the FIVB world tilt.

The fourth member of the team will be announced on Tuesday at the Batangas City Coliseum in Batangas City, immediately after the 2 p.m. battle between F2 Logistics and Petron.

"We're not done yet," said Suzara. "We're still deliberating and discussing about the four other local members of the team."

The PSL All-Star team will compete against some of the best club teams in the world, including Rexona Ades of Brazil, Bangkok Glass of Thailand, Volero Zurich of Switzerland, Hisamitsu Springs of Japan, Eczacibasi VitrA Istanbul and VakifBank Istanbul of Turkey and Pomi Casalmaggiore of Italy.

For more sports coverage, visit the ABS-CBN Sports website.