Cycling: More than 100 riders to compete in national championship


Posted at Jul 14 2019 02:35 PM

MANILA, Philippines – Over 100 riders registered for the men's elite, under-23, and men's junior categories in PhilCycling's 2019 National Road Championships.

The road races will be held on July 23, while the time trial events will be held on July 24 in Tagaytay City.

A total of 119 riders registered for the Men Elite and Under-23 Road Race (Massed Start) of the championships.

In the Men Junior (17-18 years old) Road Race, 101 riders registered, hoping to follow the tracks of their idols including former Tour champions Mark John Lexer Galedo, El Joshua Carino, Ronald Oranza and Jan Paul Morales – all national riders who are staking their slots on the team that will represent the country in the 30th Southeast Asian Games this December.

"The figures [registration] is proof that cycling is very much alive in the Philippines, thanks to our sport’s stakeholders," said PhilCycling president and Tagaytay City Rep. Abraham "Bambol" Tolentino.

The Men's Elite and Under-23 Individual Time Trial (ITT) lured 68 riders, all of whom are also competing in the Road Race, while the Men's Junior attracted 43 aspirants.

The Women Elite Road Race drew 12 riders and all 12 are also vying in the ITT of the championships whereas 12 teams have registered for the Men Elite Team Time Trial.

The Men Elite and Under-23 ITT will cover 18 kms and the Road Race 132.08 kms, the Women Elite and Men Junior ITT will be 12 kms and the Road Race will be 91.35 kms, while the Men Elite TTT will be 40 kms.

The championships main hub will be at the Praying Hands (Tagaytay City International Convention Center) on Aguinaldo Highway. The Road Races and time trial events will pass through Batangas’s First District—Agoncillo, Balayan, Calaca, Laurel, Lemery, Lian, Nasugbu, Talisay and Tuy.

For more sports coverage, visit the ABS-CBN Sports website.