MPBL: Basilan Steel nabs first win at Cebu Sharks' expense


Posted at Jul 12 2018 09:26 PM | Updated as of Jul 12 2018 11:39 PM

(UPDATED) Dennis Daa poured in 25 points as Basilan Steel nabbed its first victory in the MPBL Datu Cup at the Strike Gymnasium in Bacoor City.

Basilan won, 86-76, over the Cebu City Sharks to register the franchise's first victory since joining the league this conference.

Clark Bautista added 17 points, while Macky Acosta and Jojo Tangkay had 13 and 12, respectively.

The Steel led by as much as 15 points over the Patrick Cabahug-led Sharks.

Cebu mounted a huge fightback in the fourth period, but could not get any closer than three points.

Cabahug finished with 17 points for the Sharks.

Cebu led in almost every department, but Basilan's bench was simply too much for the Sharks, tallying 54 bench points against Cebu's 41.

Basilan now has a record of 1-2, while Cebu remains winless in three games.

In the second game, the Bulacan Kuyas frustrated the Bacoor Strikers in their home court via a heart-stopping 77-76 victory.

The Kuyas, led by Jay-R Taganas' 14 points, 11 rebounds, and 2 assists, fought off the rallying Strikers in the fourth quarter.

Mikee Reyes had 18 points for Bacoor. 

For more sports coverage, visit the ABS-CBN Sports website.