Cycling: PhilCycling holds national road championships in Tagaytay


Posted at Jul 08 2019 12:49 PM

MANILA, Philippines – The PhilCycling National Road Championships for 2019 will take place on July 23 and 24 in Tagaytay City, with stakeholders from the private sector pooling their support for the final event that will determine the composition of the national team for the Southeast Asian Games. 

PhilCycling president Rep. Abraham "Bambol" Tolentino said competitions will be in massed start (road race), individual time trial (ITT) and team time trial (TTT) for Men and Women Elite and Junior (17-18 years old).

The country's elite riders will race for coveted national champions jerseys in the Men Elite and Under-23 18-km ITT; Women Elite and Under-23 and Men and Women Junior 12-km ITT; Men Elite 40-km TTT; Women Elite and Under-23 and Men and Women Junior 91.35-km Road Race; and Men Elite and Under-23 132.08-km Road Race.

Registration is online through national coach Ednalyn Calitis Hualda's Facebook page.

Riders with International Cycling Union licenses – which can be obtained through PhilCycling director Jojo Villa's Facebook page – will be allowed to compete.

The national championships for youth men and women, aged 15 and under, will be incorporated in the Batang Pinoy national finals in Puerto Princesa next month.

Tagaytay City will also be the main hub of the 30th SEA Games cycling competitions which also includes mountain bike and BMX race and freestyle.

For more sports coverage, visit the ABS-CBN Sports website.