MPBL: Cebu trips Manila in OT, as Biñan and Rizal notch first wins


Posted at Jun 30 2019 03:58 AM

Patrick Cabahug (No. 19) scored 27 points, as Cebu downed Manila 91-86 in overtime in the 2019 MPBL Lakan Cup on Saturday. Courtesy of the MPBL Facebook account

Patrick Cabahug scored 27 points and William Bill McAloney added 19 points and 14 rebounds, as Cebu Sharks Casino Ethyl Alcohol downed Manila Stars Frontrow 91-86 in overtime in the 2019 MPBL Lakan Cup on Saturday.

Cebu (2-1) didn't let the home team score a basket in the first 4 minutes of the extension at San Andres Gym to deal Manila its first loss in 3 games. 

Manila's loss meant that Makati Super Crunch (2-0), San Juan Knights Go for Gold (2-0), Basilan Steels Jumbo Plastic (2-0), Batangas City Athletics Tanduay (1-0), and Iloilo United Royals (1-0) are the only undefeated teams left.

Christopher Bitoon led Stars with 20 points.

Meanwhile, Mark Anthony Acosta scored 19 points off the bench, and Biñan City Laguna Heroes Krah Pipes used a strong second quarter to come away with a 98-90 win over Nueva Ecija MiGuard.

It was Heroes' first win after an 0-2 start, tying Nueva Ecija in the standings.

Pari Llagas finished with 16 points to pace MiGuard.

In the other game, Rizal Xentro Mall Golden Coolers edged Muntinlupa Cagers Angelis Resort 70-66 in a low-scoring game.

Jayvee Vidal tallied 11 points for Rizal, which evened its record to 1-1.

Muntinlupa, finalist in the inaugural season, fell to 0-3.

(All standings are based on the official MPBL Facebook account)

For more sports coverage, visit the ABS-CBN Sports website.