Football: Malditas unveil line-up for AFF Women's Championship


Posted at Jun 28 2018 04:10 PM

Football: Malditas unveil line-up for AFF Women's Championship 1
The Philippine women's football team. Handout photo.

MANILA, Philippines – The journey of the Philippine women's national football team continues when they compete in the 2018 AFF Women's Championship, which starts on June 30 in Palembang, Indonesia.

The team has made great strides so far this year, having competed in the AFC Women's Asian Cup in Jordan last April.

In their first-ever appearance in the tournament, the Philippines defeated the host team, 2-1, before losing in heartbreakers to China (0-4), Thailand (1-3), and Korea Republic (0-5). The defeat to Korea denied them a slot to the 2019 FIFA Women's World Cup in France.

Currently ranked 73rd in the FIFA Women's Rankings, the Malditas are in Group B for the tournament.

They play Myanmar on July 1, Singapore on July 3, Vietnam on July 7, and tournament host Indonesia on July 9. Only the top two teams in each group will advance to the knockout stages.

"We wish the Philippine women's national team the best of luck in the AFF Women's Championship 2018," PFF general secretary Atty. Edwin Gastanes said in a statement.

"The hoped-for success that this team will achieve in this tournament should continue to inspire women's football players in the country," he added. "Our hopes and prayers are with the team as they compete for regional supremacy in Southeast Asia."

The full squad is as follows:

1. Stacey Janet Margery Cavill (goalkeeper)
2. Inna Palacios (goalkeeper)
3. Nicole Julianne Reyes (goalkeeper)
4. Alesa Dolino (defender)
5. Sofia Nicole Harrison (defender)
6. Patrice Mae Impelido (defender)
7. Hali Moriah Long (defender)
8. Patricia Tomanon (defender)
9. Anicka Chabeli Castañeda (midfielder)
10. Kyla Inquig (midfielder)
11. Charisa Marie Lemoran (midfielder)
12. Hanna Malone Parado (midfielder)
13. Irish Navaja (midfielder)
14. Camille Rodriguez (midfielder)
15. Joyce Semacio (midfielder)
16. Alisha Clare del Campo (forward)
17. Eve Madarang (forward)
18. Quinley Murielle Quezada (forward)

Impelido has been named captain of the team. The Malditas will be coached by Letecia Bautista, assisted by Marnelli Dimzon, Josephine Loren, and goalkeeping coach Melo Sabacan.

For more sports coverage, visit the ABS-CBN Sports website.