Cycling: Chase for 10th Le Tour de Filipinas title begins in Tagaytay


Posted at Jun 13 2019 11:32 PM

Cycling: Chase for 10th Le Tour de Filipinas title begins in Tagaytay 1
The Philippine national team — composed of Jhon Mark Camingao, Jan Paul Marales, Ronald Oranza, Junrey Navarra and El Joshua Cariño — hopes to give the hosts something to cheer for in the 10th Le Tour de Filipinas, which begins on Friday. File/Handout

Fourteen teams compete for the title when the 10th Le Tour de Filipinas begins its 5-day race in Tagaytay City on Friday.

Leading the field is the Philippine national team, which stars defending champion El Joshua Cariño, only the third Filipino to win the Le Tour title.

Marcelo Felipe leads the 7-Eleven Cliqq-Air21 by Roadbike Philippines team, while Daniel Ven Carino, 2018’s best rider, banners Go For Gold.

Mark John Lexer Galedo, the 2014 winner, represents Celeste Cycle, while Michael Angelo Ochoa is at the forefront for Bike X Philippines.

The number of foreign teams is down to 9, following the last-minute withdrawal of the Hong Kong national team.

Jersey colors for various race leaderships have been modified in this year’s race.

The general classification jersey moves from traditional yellow to the Air21 purple jersey, while the king of the mountain wears the NMM blue jersey instead of a polka dot one.

For points classification, the rider dons the Cargohaus orange jersey, not green, while the best young rider, who used to slip into a white jersey, uses the Ufreight red jersey.

Instead of purple, the top Filipino rider gets the SPL pink jersey.

The kickoff stage runs for 129.5 kilometers on an out-and-back course in Tagaytay, followed by the 194.9-kilometer Stage 2 on Saturday from Pagbilao town in Quezon to Date in Camarines Norte.

Stage 3 on Sunday covers 183.7 kilometers from Daet to Legazpi City, while Stage 4 on Monday travels for 176 kilometers from Legazpi City via Sorsogon and Gubat town, and back to Legazpi.

The last stage on Tuesday is an out-and-back in Legazpi, which goes through Donsol town in Sorsogon. The distance is at 145.8 kilometers, and the terrain includes rolling hills and weather conditions strong winds.

The foreign challengers include: Nex Cycling Team (Singapore), PGN Road Cycling Team (Indonesia), Oliver’s Real Food Racing (Australia), Taiyuan Moigee Cycling Team (China), Team Nero Bianchi (Australia), Team Ukyo (Japan), Team Sapura Cycling, Terrenganu Cycling Team (Malaysia), and the Thailand national team.

For more sports coverage, visit the ABS-CBN Sports website.