UE Warriors topple NU for FilOil crown


Posted at Jun 12 2013 08:05 PM | Updated as of Jun 16 2013 07:45 AM

MANILA, Philippines – The University of the East (UE) took advantage of a foul-plagued National University (NU) to snatch the FilOil Flying V Hanes Premier Cup title via an 81-68 win at The Arena in San Juan.

Ralf Olivares and Lord Casajeros stepped on the gas for a torrid 15-2 run in the final quarter while the defending champions Bulldogs were already without their fouled out players Ray Parks and Emmanuel Mbe.

This upped the Warriors’ advantage to 65-58, wiping out an eight-point deficit under five minutes remaining.

Joshua Alolino and Jeoff Javillonar tried to keep NU afloat, but the Bulldogs’ foul woes allowed the Warriors to capture the title.

It was a big win for UE which aimed to upset the defending champions.

Meanwhile, San Beda outscored University of Santo Tomas (UST), 74-70, to snare the third place honors.

Baser Amer led the Red Lions with 15 points, while Rome Dela Rosa added 13 points to help San Beda end its FilOil campaign on a high note.

The Red Lions broke through a 55-55 tie via a 9-0 run for a 64-55 lead in the fourth quarter.

The Tigers came within two points when Tata Bautista connected from the three-point range with 12 seconds left. But Art Dela Cruz sealed the win with two charity shots from the free throw line.

Jeric Teng led UST with 27 points, while Karim Abdul churned out 12.