UAAP: Bagunas wins MVP, Almendras gets Rookie of the Year for NU

Camille B. Naredo, ABS-CBN News

Posted at May 14 2019 05:30 PM

MANILA, Philippines – Bryan Bagunas will end his UAAP career as the league's Most Valuable Player, after winning the top individual award in the Season 81 men's volleyball tournament.

Bagunas, who led National University (NU) to a 13-1 record in the elimination, was the league's top scorer with 285 points and its most efficient spiker with a 53.49% efficiency.

He will take home the MVP award, along with 1st Best Outside Hitter honors, and the Best Server trophy.

His teammate, Nico Almendras, is the Rookie of the Year for Season 81. Almendras finished as NU's second leading scorer, totaling 144 points in his freshman year.

Bagunas and Almendras will try to lead NU to its second straight men's championship on Wednesday, when they face Far Eastern University (FEU) in Game 2 of the best-of-3 finals.

FEU's Jude Garcia was named the 2nd Best Outside Hitter, having totaled 188 points while making 41.04% of his attempts for the Tamaraws. His teammate, JP Bugaoan, earned 1st Best Middle Blocker honors, while Ateneo de Manila University's Chumason Njigha is the 2nd Best Middle Blocker.

For the sixth season in a row, the Best Setter award goes to a Blue Eagle as Lawrence Magadia earned the nod as the top playmaker of the league. Former Ateneo star Ish Polvorosa had won the award in the previous five years.

NU's James Natividad is the Best Opposite Hitter, while Ateneo's Manuel Sumanguid III won Best Libero.

The awardees will be formally recognized ahead of Game 2 of the men's volleyball finals on Wednesday at the Mall of Asia Arena.

For more sports coverage, visit the ABS-CBN Sports website.