Cycling: Le Tour marks 10th anniversary with 5-stage race


Posted at May 06 2019 11:58 AM

MANILA, Philippines – Le Tour de Filipinas celebrates its 10th year on June 14 to 18, with a five-stage race that flags off from scenic Tagaytay City and ends with the majestic Mayon Volcano as the backdrop.

From four stages in all of the UCI 2.2 race's first nine years, the 2019 edition will be held over 5 days.

It kicks off with the 129.5-km Tagaytay City-Tagaytay City out-and-back Stage 1 on June 14. 

Next up on June 15 will be the 194.9-km Stage 2 from Pagbilao, Quezon, to Daet, Camarines, Norte, and the 183.7-km Stage 3 on June 16 from Daet to Legaspi City where Mayon Volcano and its majestic splendor welcome the arrival of the 15 teams—five local and 10 international—composed of 75 riders.

The last two stages will be out-and-back courses from Legaspi City. 

Stage 4 will cover 176 kms via Sorsogon and Gubat in Sorsogon, followed by a highly technical Stage 5 over 145.80 kms passing through Sorsogon's quaint coastal town of Donsol made famous all over the world by the gentle swimming giant butanding.

"For nine years, the Le Tour de Filipinas has never ceased to achieve its purpose—promote cycling not only as a sport, but as a way of life. And on the 10th year, the mission remains as fervent as ever," said Alberto Lina, who in 2002 revived the Philippine Tour after three years of inactivity.

The Le Tour de Filipinas is the forerunner of the fabled Philippine Tour that took many names from the historic Manila-Vigan inaugurals in 1954 to the last of 22 long Marlboro Tour years in the Centennial International Cycling Union-sanctioned Centennial Tour in 1998.

In 2002, businessman-sportsman Lina took over the cudgels and bankrolled what is now called the Le Tour de Filipinas, an advocacy and support that is 19 years and counting for the former president now PhilCycling chairman.

El Joshua Carino will be back to defend his title riding for the Philippine National Team-Philippine Navy-Standard Insurance squad. 

He will be joined in the challenge by former champion Marc Galedo of 7-Eleven Air 21 Roadbike Philippines.

For more sports coverage, visit the ABS-CBN Sports website.