Batangas holds off Muntinlupa to win inaugural MPBL championship


Posted at Apr 19 2018 10:15 PM | Updated as of Apr 19 2018 10:54 PM

Jhaymo Eguilos made a jumper with 59 seconds to go, helping the Batangas Athletics—Tanduay to defeat the Muntinlupa Cagers—Angelis Resort 68-66 at Muntinlupa Sports Complex on Thursday and win the inaugural MPBL Anta Rajah Cup championship.

Batangas wrapped up the best-of-5 title series in 4 games, and the Athletics waited until the final second before taking home the trophy.

After Eguilos' basket and a number of subsequent empty possessions by both clubs, Muntinlupa center Pari Llagas had a chance to send the game to overtime with 1.2 seconds remaining after Mark Olayon fouled him on a follow-up attempt.

But Llagas' first free-throw attempt bounced off the rim and his teammates couldn't recover his intentional miss on the second, which preserved the victory for Batangas.

Moncrief Rogado, a native of Cebu and former college teammate of 4-time PBA MVP June Mar Fajardo, scored 14 points and Kier Quinto added 12 to lead Batangas.

Llagas, a first-round pick in the 2010 PBA rookie draft, finished with a game-high 19 points for Muntinlupa, which was awarded 31 free-throw attempts, but made only 16 of them.

For more sports coverage, visit the ABS-CBN Sports website.