PBA: NorthPort's Anthony earns Defensive Player of the Year nod


Posted at Apr 12 2020 06:11 PM

PBA: NorthPort's Anthony earns Defensive Player of the Year nod 1
NorthPort's Sean Anthony (10) is the 2019 PBA Defensive Player of the Year. File photo. Josh Albelda, ABS-CBN Sports.

MANILA - NorthPort's do-it-all forward, Sean Anthony, adds another trophy to his collection after he was named the Defensive Player of the Year by the PBA Press Corps.

This comes after Anthony earned a first ever Mythical First team selection and a place in the All-Defensive team during the recent PBA Leo Awards.

Anthony will be formally honored during the PBA Press Corps Awards Night, which will be held at a later date following the novel coronavirus outbreak. It was originally scheduled for March 16 at the Novotel Manila at the Araneta Center.

This is the first time that Anthony won the award, which was previously won by Chris Ross, June Mar Fajardo, Marc Pingris, and Gabe Norwood, among others.

Poy Erram, now of TNT KaTropa, won the honor in 2018.
The Defensive Player of the Year is one of the 11 awards to be handed out during the affair, now on its 26th year.

San Miguel's Terrence Romeo is Mr. Quality Minutes, Columbian Dyip's CJ Perez is the Scoring Champion, San Miguel's June Mar Fajardo receives the Order of Merit, while the triple-overtime classic between NorthPort and NLEX is the Game of the Season.

The All-Rookie Team, composed of Perez, Robert Bolick, Javee Mocon, Ray Parks and Abu Tratter, will also be recognized, along with the All-Interview Team (Kiefer Ravena, Christian Standhardinger, Beau Belga, Vic Manuel, Arwind Santos, and Coach Yeng Guiao).

D-League Finals MVPs Thirdy Ravena and Hesed Gabo will also be acknowledged in the ceremony.

Still to be named are the recipients of the President's Award, the Danny Floro Executive of the Year, and the Virgilio "Baby" Dalupan Coach of the Year.

(For more sports coverage, visit the ABS-CBN Sports website).