UAAP Season 81 baseball: DLSU outlasts Ateneo, reclaims throne

ABS-CBN Sports

Posted at Apr 05 2019 05:33 PM | Updated as of Apr 05 2019 06:33 PM

The DLSU Green Batters won their second title in four seasons and fifth overall baseball crown. Arvin Lim, ABS-CBN Sports

Kiko Gesmundo blasted a two-run home run in the top of the ninth inning as De La Salle University edged Ateneo de Manila University, 11-9, in a thrilling ending to reclaim the crown Friday in the UAAP Season 81 baseball tournament.

The Green Batters then preserved Gesmundo's heroics with a double play at the bottom ninth that doused any hopes for the Blue Eagles to send the game to extra innings, sending the green-clad gallery into frenzy at the historic Rizal Memorial Baseball Stadium.

"Nasa kanila na. Magde-determine ang larong ito sa mas gustong manalo. At pinatunayan nila iyon. Ang sabi ko, anytime, kaya nila iyon," said Joseph Orillana, a former De La Salle ace pitcher won won his second championship as a coach.

Winning their second title in four seasons, the Green Batters also claimed their fifth crown overall.

Read the entire recap on ABS-CBN Sports here.