UAAP football: La Salle tops UST to claim women's title again


Posted at Apr 05 2018 08:51 PM | Updated as of Jan 16 2019 07:50 PM

Kyla Inquig scored a brace as De La Salle University nipped University of Santo Tomas, 2-1, at Rizal Memorial Stadium on Thursday to retain the championship in UAAP Season 80 women's football.

An 80th-minute strike by Inquig followed by several key saves by goalkeeper Tashka Lacson sealed the Lady Archers' back-to-back title romp.

De La Salle is now tied with Far Eastern University for the most number of women's football crowns with 10.

Inquig's free kick in the 12th minute opened scoring for the Lady Archers before Shelah Cadag found the back of the net 10 minutes later for the Tigresses to level.

It was a painful loss for UST, which beat La Salle twice in the eliminations but failed to come away with a win on the biggest stage.

Meanwhile, reigning MVP Jarvey Gayoso netted a brace as men's titleholder Ateneo joined University of the Philippines in the semifinals with a 4-0 victory over University of the East.

For more sports coverage, visit the ABS-CBN Sports website.