Hualda dominates Circulo Verde to earn spot in Red Bull Last Stand


Posted at Mar 20 2017 03:57 PM

Ronnel Hualda celebrates before crossing the finish line as the winner during the Circulo Verde Chase Down in Quezon City. Handout photo

MANILA, Philippines – Veteran campaigner Ronnel Hualda dominated the Fixed Gear Men's race of the first-ever Circulo Verde Chase Down on Sunday to earn a spot to the Red Bull Last Stand later this year in San Antonio, Texas.

The Fixed Gear Men's race was the highlight of the Circulo Verde Chase Down, an event organized by the Metro Race Collective in partnership with Ortigas & Company and held at Circulo Verde.

The fixed gear, eliminator-style criterium ensures that only the strongest survive. The slowest rider in each lap is taken out of the race, until one rider has outlasted the competition.

In winning the centerpiece Fixed Gear Men's race, Hualda outshined a field that included Go for Gold's Jerry Roa Aquino.

"First ko maglaro ng ganito, so masaya ako kasi first time ko naglaro ng ganitong klase na karera, nanalo ako," said Hualda.

[This is my first time to compete in a race like this, so I'm glad I won.]

Hualda will now compete in the Red Bull Last Stand, where a typical criterium will get a Texas-style overhaul with the new "eliminator format." In the cut-throat set-up, the rider who crosses the finish line last in each lap gets eliminated, until there is just one rider left to take the final celebration lap.

Other highlights included the Fixed Women (open), which saw a well-earned victory from Japo Parcero.

"I didn't expect it, because this is my first criterium race, but it feels awesome. It would be awesome for this to become a regular event, to liven up the scene," said Parcero.

Men's Fixed Race

1. Ronnel Hualda
2. Jerry Roa Aquino
3. Agustin Querimit

Women's Fixed Race

1. Japo Parcero
2. Gwyniever Fryce
3. Jannel Geremia

Women's Geared Race

1. Mary Joyce Monton
2. Marianne Dacumos
3. Joyce Ann Monton

Men's Geared Race

1. Rodolfo Malangsa
2. Joshua Atienza
3. Jeffrey Monton

For more sports coverage, visit the ABS-CBN Sports website.