San Beda's Amsali tops year-end high school player rankings


Posted at Mar 17 2020 01:07 PM

San Beda's Amsali tops year-end high school player rankings 1
San Beda's Rhayyan Amsali (13) is the top high school player from the NCAA. Josh Albelda, ABS-CBN Sports

MANILA, Philippines -- Despite his absence in the end-of-season awards in the NCAA Season 95 juniors tournament, San Beda University's Rhayyan Amsali still takes the top spot when it comes to the ranking of the country's best high school players.

A suspension in the middle of the tournament kept Amsali from qualifying for any individual honor, and that incident seemingly fired up the player, who proceeded to embrace his role as San Beda's top gun and glue guy.

When the lights were at their brightest, Amsali proved his worth as he steered the Red Cubs to their first juniors title since 2015, and was hailed as the Finals MVP.

Amsali thus took the pole position in the final edition of the NCAA NBTC 24.

He leads a strong San Beda contingent, with three Red Cubs in the Top 5 and four in the Top 10.

Season MVP John Barba, who steered Lyceum of the Philippines University to a breakthrough finals appearance, finished second followed by San Beda's Justine Sanchez at No. 3 and Yukien Andrada at No. 5.

The Junior Pirates do-it-all guard Mac Guadana completed the Top 5, at No. 4.

Rounding out the top 10 are Mapua University's Jonnel Policarpio, San Beda's Tony Ynot, La Salle Greenhills' RC Calimag, and the Colegio de San Juan de Letran pair of Joshua Ramirez and Shawn Umali.

Here is the final list of the NCAA NBTC 24 rankings:

1. Rhayyan Amsali (SBU)
2. John Barba (LPU)
3. Justine Sanchez (SBU)
4. Mac Guadana (LPU)
5. Yukien Andrada (SBU)
6. Jonnel Policarpio (MU)
7. Tony Ynot (SBU)
8. RC Calimag (LSGH)
9. Joshua Ramirez (CSJL)
10. Shawn Umali (CSJL)
11. Dylan Darbin (SSCR)
12. Jan Manansala (LSGH)
13. Chris Recto (AU)
14. Emman Galman (UPHSD)
15. Kobe Palencia (LSGH)
16. Gholam Garcia (JRU)
17. Milo Janao (SSCR)
18. CJ Saure (CSJL)
19. Jae Omandac (LPU)
20. Megan Galang (MU)
21. Shawn Orgo (UPHSD)
22. Adrian Balowa (EAC-ICA)
23. Edzel Galoy (UPHSD)
24. Danren Nepomuceno (AU)

It will take some time before these players can show off their wares on the basketball court again, however.

Due to the novel coronavirus (COVID-19) outbreak, the Chooks-to-Go NBTC league national finals as well as the annual All-Star Game have been postponed and tentatively rescheduled.

The events were originally set for March 21 to 27 at the SM Mall of Asia. Instead, it has been penciled in for April 20 to 26, still at the same venue.

For more sports coverage, visit the ABS-CBN Sports website