PBA: Fajardo gets Order of Merit, Perez is new scoring champion


Posted at Mar 10 2020 02:05 PM

MANILA, Philippines – Reigning Most Valuable Player June Mar Fajardo and Rookie of the Year CJ Perez lead the initial list of honorees who will be recognized in the 2019 PBA Press Corps Awards Night next week at the Novotel Manila Araneta City in Cubao, Quezon City.

Fajardo will receive the Order of Merit, after earning the most Player of the Week citations last season.

Perez, meanwhile, emerged as the league's new Scoring Champion. The prolific Columbian guard is the first rookie to lead the league in scoring since Erik Menk in 1999.

The awards are just two of the 11 accolades that will be handed out in the March 16 affair.

A new batch of All-Interview team members will also be honored, along with the two Finals MVPs of last year's PBA D-League tournaments.

Comprising the All-Interview team are: Kiefer Ravena, Beau Belga, Vic Manuel, Arwind Santos, Christian Standhardinger, and coach Yeng Guiao.

The D-League Finals MVPs are Cignal-Ateneo's Thirdy Ravena for the Aspirants' Cup, and Hessed Gabo of BRT-Sumisip Basilan-St. Clare for the Foundation Cup.

Other awards to be given is the Game of the Season, All-Rookie Team, Mr. Quality Minutes, Defensive Player of the Year, President’s award, and the Danny Floro Executive of the Year.

Highlighting the awards night is the naming of the Coach of the Year. San Miguel Beer's Leo Austria and Barangay Ginebra's Tim Cone are disputing the coveted Virgilio "Baby" Dalupan Trophy, named after the late, great "Maestro" of Philippine basketball.

(For more sports coverage, visit the ABS-CBN Sports website).