Basketball: Kai Sotto, Joel Cagulangan teams clash as NBTC all-star rosters set


Posted at Mar 09 2018 08:20 PM | Updated as of Nov 12 2018 03:21 PM

Joel Cagulangan and his side will have their hands full against Kai Sotto and his crew in the National Basketball Training Center high school all-star game at Mall of Asia Arena on March 23.

La Salle Greenhills coach Marvin Bienvenida made Cagulangan, his star guard, the first overall pick in the all-star draft held Thursday, which means the NCAA Season 93 finals MVP will spearhead Team Cherifer Heart, coached by Chris Gavina.

Ateneo de Manila High School coach Joe Silva had no second thoughts centering his squad around 15-year-old prodigy Kai Sotto, as the UAAP Season 80 finals MVP will lead Team Cherifer Hustle, coached by Topex Robinson.

The annual high school all-star game serves as the culmination of the 8-week NBTC Chooks-to-Go 24 ranking process, where coaches, sportswriters and a statistician determine the best high school players in the country out of several leagues.

Joining Cagulangan on Team Cherifer Heart are:

1. Warren Bonifacio (Mapua University)
2. Raven Cortez (De La Salle Zobel)
3. Clint Escamis (Mapua University)
4. Aaron Fermin (Arellano High School)
5. Inand Fornilos (La Salle Greenhills)
6. John Galinato (Chiang Kai Shek)
7. L-Jay Gonzales (Far Eastern University-Diliman)
8. Dave Ildefonso (Ateneo)
9. Biern Laurente (University of Visayas)
10. Evan Nelle (San Beda High School) 
11. Joshua Yerro (University of Visayas)

“Mostly, my backcourt can play multiple positions. Their roles vary, may it be to get ready to shoot or get the ball down. They’re versatile,” Bienvenida said.

“Bottomline, they’re fast, they defend well on perimeter, and we have good anchors in our big men.”

Teaming up with Sotto on Team Cherifer Hustle are: 

1. RJ Abarrientos (FEU-Diliman)
2. Rhayyan Amsali (Nazareth School of National University)
3. SJ Belangel (Ateneo)
4. CJ Cansino (University of Santo Tomas)
5. Terrence Fortea (Nazareth School of National University)
6. Will Gozum (Mapua)
7. Mac Guadaña (Lyceum of the Philippines University)
8. Miguel Oczon (Nazareth School of National University)
9. Harvey Pagsanjan (Hope Christian High School)
10. Joem Sabandal (Adamson High School)
11. Alex Visser (Sacred Heart School-Ateneo de Cebu)

“It’s a mixture of defense and offense and I stuck with defense first,” said Silva. “In the end, nakakuha naman ako ng offensive players.”

For more sports coverage, visit the ABS-CBN Sports website.