SMB's Fajardo on track for record-setting 6th BPC award

Camille B. Naredo, ABS-CBN News

Posted at Mar 05 2018 04:25 PM | Updated as of Oct 30 2018 08:19 AM

San Miguel's June Mar Fajardo file photo. Richard Esguerra, ABS-CBN Sports

MANILA, Philippines – For the past four seasons, San Miguel Beer center June Mar Fajardo has been the most dominant player during the PBA's All-Filipino Conferences. This season is no different.

At the end of the elimination round of the 2017-18 PBA Philippine Cup, the 6-foot-10 big man is leading the race for Best Player of the Conference (BPC) honors.

With averages of 22.8 points, 13.2 rebounds, 2.1 blocks, and 1.8 assists per game, Fajardo compiled 44.1 average statistical points, giving him a healthy lead over his closest pursuer – San Miguel teammate Arwind Santos.

Santos has 37.6 average SPs after norming 16.3 points, 10.5 rebounds, 2.9 assists, and 2.0 blocks per game for the Beermen.

If Fajardo winds up winning the BPC trophy, it will mark the fifth straight time that he has won the top individual honor in the All-Filipino Cup. It will also be his sixth BPC trophy, the most that any player has won in the history of the league.

As it stands, Fajardo is tied with his mentor, Danny Ildefonso, with five BPC trophies.

GlobalPort guard Stanley Pringle is in third place with 35.6 average SPs after norming 20.2 points, 7.5 rebounds, 4.6 assists, and 1.5 steals per game. In fourth place is Blackwater big man JP Erram, who averaged 14.2 points, and led the league with 13.8 rebounds and 2.9 blocks per game to tally 35.3 SPs.

Ginebra's Japeth Aguilar rounds out the Top 5 with 34.2 average SPs built on 19.3 points, 8.1 rebounds, and 2.7 assists per game.

The rest of the Top 10 are as follows: San Miguel's Marcio Lassiter (32.4 SPs), Ginebra's Scottie Thompson (32.3 SPs), GlobalPort's Sean Anthony (32.2 SPs), Magnolia's Paul Lee (31.5 SPs), and Phoenix's Matthew Wright (31.4 SPs).

The BPC trophy will be awarded ahead of Game 4 of the All-Filipino Cup finals.

For more sports coverage, visit the ABS-CBN Sports website.