2 former PBA team owners to get posthumous recognitions


Posted at Mar 01 2020 04:47 PM

MANILA – Two former PBA owners, including a founding member of the league, will receive a posthumous recognition in the Philippine Sportswriters Association Annual Awards Night at the Centennial Hall of the Manila Hotel.

The late billionaire and philanthropist John Gokongwei Jr. and Lucio "Bong" Tan Jr. are on top of the list of 15 dearly departed sports personalities who will be honored with a short video and a minute of silence by the PSA on March 6.

Gokongwei, 93, owned the CFC Corporation (now Universal Robina Corporation) franchise which was among the founding members of the PBA when it was established in 1975. The team played under the brands Presto, N-Rich, Great Taste, and Tivoli, winning a total of six championships in 17 years with the league.

Tan, 53, was the passionate, basketball-loving owner of the Tanduay franchise when it made its PBA comeback in 1999.

Tan passed away on November 11, just two days after the death of Gokongwei.

Also to be remembered in the special event are former national team standouts and sports officials Claro Pellosis, Florendo Ritualo Sr., Susan Papa, Angelo Constantino, Rafael Poliquit, and Mark Joseph.

Completing the posthumous list are Nes Pamilar, VicVic Villavicencio, Reggie Santos, Emmanuel Tangkion, Miguel Bonalos, Sheryl Reyes, and Amber Garcia Torres.

For more sports coverage, visit the ABS-CBN Sports website.