Cycling: Navy’s Ronald Oranza, Jan Paul Morales shoot for Ronda crown


Posted at Feb 22 2020 07:30 PM

All eyes will be on Ronald Oranza and Jan Paul Morales of Standard Insurance-Navy when the LBC Ronda Pilipinas 10th anniversary race unfurls at the Baywalk in Sorsogon on Sunday.

Oranza, the 2018 champion, vowed to reclaim the crown he lost to Spanish competitor Francisco Mancebo last year while Morales, the 2016 and 2017 winner, shoots for a third crown in this annual race staking P1 million to the general classification winner.

“The goal is to stay positive and not to think that much about last year’s experience,” said the 27-year-old Oranza in Filipino.

Morales, 34, said he has a legitimate chance at snaring his third crown, a record for Filipino cyclists.

“I fell good about our preparation and with more hard work, I think I have a strong chance this year,” said Morales.

But Morales said he doesn’t mind backing up Oranza or any of his teammates.

Standard Insurance has fielded in a powerhouse roster that is also composed of former Le Tour champion El Joshua Carino, many-time King of the Mountain winner Junrey Navara, George Oconer, Ronald Lomotos and John Mark Camingao.

Both Oranza and Morales said this year’s edition should be one of the toughest races in Ronda history, considering that three more ex-titlists are joining — Santy Barnachea (Scratch It), Reimon Lapaza (Celeste) and Mark Galedo of (7Eleven Cliqq-Air21 by Roadbike Philippines).

Other teams seeing action are Go for Gold, Bicycology-Army, Bike Xtreme, Tarlac/Central Luzon, Nueva Ecija, Ilocos Sur and South Luzon-Batangas.

For more sports coverage, visit the ABS-CBN Sports website.