Ateneo sweeps La Salle to repeat as baseball champs


Posted at Feb 18 2014 06:54 PM | Updated as of Feb 19 2014 03:54 AM

Ateneo sweeps La Salle to repeat as baseball champs 1
Ateneo players run to the field after defeating La Salle, 8-3, in Game 2 of the UAAP Season 76 baseball finals. Photo by Mark Cristino for

MANILA – Ateneo was as lethal on the mound as it was on the plate as the Blue Batters repeated as baseball champions in UAAP Season 76 with an authoritative 8-3 victory over archrival De La Salle on Tuesday at the Rizal Memorial Stadium.

The Blue Eagles completed a two-game sweep of the Green Archers, whom they faced for the first time in a UAAP baseball final.

“Lumabas ang championship composure nila. They stayed focused,” said jubilant Ateneo coach Randy Dizer, whose wards committed only two errors.

Andy Tan, the hero in Ateneo’s 10-8 Game One victory, was named the season’s Most Valuable Player and Best Pitcher, while Miguel Dumlao, who threw six scoreless innings, was awarded the Rookie of the Year trophy.

The Blue Batters were impressive in the fourth inning, belting four runs behind Matt Laurel, Adrianne Bernardo and Dio Remollo for a 6-0 lead.

A homerun by Carlos Munoz sparked La Salle’s three-run seventh inning, but it was too late to bail the Taft-based batters out of trouble.

Laurel, who bagged the Most Homeruns, Best Slugger and Most Stolen Bases awards, had two runs and two RBIs to lead the way for the Blue Batters.