PH Volcanoes to debut in Hong Kong Sevens


Posted at Feb 17 2012 09:37 AM | Updated as of Feb 18 2012 12:29 AM

MANILA, Philippines – The Philippine Volcanoes earned a spot in the Cathay Pacific/HSBC Hong Kong Sevens tournament for the first time, the team said in a statement Thursday.

The Volcanoes are the 13th Asian team to join the tournament and they complete the cast of 24 international squads.

They qualified for the Hong Kong Sevens after qualifying as the fourth placer in the inaugural HSBC Asian Sevens Series in 2011.

According to the Philippine Rugby Football Union, the Volcanoes also impressed the tournament organizers after their performance in the HSBC Sevens World Series’ Borneo 7s, wherein they finished in second place.

The Hong Kong Sevens tournament is organized by the Hong Kong Rugby Football Union and sponsored by Cathay Pacific Airways and HSBC. It will take place on March 23-25 and is expected to attract around 120,000 spectators from all over the world.

It will be the Philippines’ debut in the event. Also making their first appearance is Guyana, the winner of the North American Carribean Rugby Association Sevens in November 2011.

Included in the 24 international teams are the 12 core teams of the HSBC Sevens World Series: Argentina, Australia, England, Fiji, France, Kenya, New Zealand, Samoa, Scotland, South Africa, United States and Wales.