Cycling: Revamped Go for Gold to test new blood in Ronda Pilipinas race


Posted at Feb 15 2020 07:25 PM

Go for Gold will go up against the country's best cyclists when it showcases the team it trained for years in the LBC Ronda Pilipinas 10th anniversary race, which begins on February 23 in Sorsogon.

Ronnel Hualda will be the team captain of the squad composed of Daniel Ven Carino, Jonel Carcueva, Isamel Grospe Jr., Jericho Jay Lucero, Marc Ryan Lago, Ronnilan Quita and Rex Luis Krog.

“The guys have improved since we first took them and while our target is modest this year, I will not be surprised if we will give the favored teams serious challenge,” said Go for Gold coach and manager Eds Hualda.

“(Discovering young talent) has been the goal by Go for Gold since the team was first formed. And we will never stop until we find and make them champions.”

Carino, Carcueva and Grospe are Go for Gold’s best hopes to contend in the decade-old race staking P1 million to the champion, as the three are consistent top 10 finishers in past races.

They’ll be faced by a field headed by a Standard Insurance (Navy) squad spearheaded by former titlists Jan Paul Morales and Ronald Oranza and three more former Ronda winners Santy Barnachea of Scratch it, Mark Galedo of 7Eleven Cliqq-Air21 by Roadbike Phil and Reimon Lapaza of Celeste Cycles-Devel Project Pro Team.

The other teams joining this 10-stage race are Bicycology (Army), Bike Xtreme, Tarlac/Central Luzon, Ilocos Sur, South Luzon/Batangas and Nueva Ecija.

For more sports coverage, visit the ABS-CBN Sports website.