Fast Facts on the ARMM Elections

By Jesus Llanto and Gemma Bagayaua,

Posted at Aug 10 2008 10:47 PM | Updated as of Sep 08 2008 09:47 PM

- Due to take place Monday, August 11, 2008, the ARMM Elections will cover 6 provinces (Lanao del Sur, Maguindanao, Sulu, Tawi-Tawi, Basilan, Shariff Kabunsuan), two cities (Marawi City and Lamitan City), 113 municipalities, and 2,470 barangays.

- Excluded from the province of Basilan is Isabela City, which is part of Region IX or the Zamboanga Peninsula. Cotabato Ciity, where the offices of the regional government is located is also not part of ARMM.

- The Supreme Court recently voided the creation of the province of Shariff Kabunsuan. The decision, however, is still under appeal. Thus, the Comelec is currently still treating Shariff Kabunsuan as a province distinct from its mother province of Maguindanao.

- In this year's ARMM elections, the Commission on Elections is using two types of election automation technology: the Optical Media Reader (OMR) and the Direct Recording Electronic (DRE).

Mouse over the icons below to see how the two technologies differ.


(Read Lesson for the ARMM polls: New problems accompany election automation for more details on issues relating to these automation systems.)

- The Comelec expects results to be available within 36 hours after voting ends. Below are details of 36-hour target:

August 1, 1989: The Republic Act No. 6734 or the Organic Act of the Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao, is signed into law by then President Corazon C. Aquino.

November 17, 1989: A plebiscite is conducted in the proposed areas of ARMM (13 provinces and nine cities) to determine if the residents want to be part of the region. Plebiscite was held in the provinces of Lanao del Sur, Maguindanao, Tawi-Tawi, Basilan, Davao del Sur, Lanao del Norte, North Cotabato, Palawan, South Cotabato, Sultan Kudarat, Sulu, Zamboanga del Norte and Zamboanga del Sur and in the cities of Dapitan, Dipolog, Cotabato, General Santos, Iligan, Marawi, Pagadian, Puerto Princesa, and Zamboanga. Only four provinces—Sulu, Tawi-Tawi, Maguindanao and Lanao del Sur—choose to join the region.

February 12, 1990: Election for the newly-created region is held. Zacaria Candao and Benjamin Loong win as the region’s governor and vice governor, respectively.

March 25, 1993: Election is held for the 2nd time. Liningding Pangandaman and Nabil Tan are proclaimed winners for the gubernatorial and vice-gubernatorial posts.

September 9, 1996: Election is held for the 3rd time. Nur Misuari and Guimid Matalam are elected as governor and vice-governor, respectively.

August 14, 2001: A plebiscite is held after the passage of the Expanded ARMM Law (RA 9054) to determine if the four provinces were in favor of the amendments to RA 6734. Plebiscite was also held in 11 provinces and 14 cities to determine if the residents want to be included in the expanded ARMM.

Plebiscite is held in the provinces of Basilan, Davao del Sur, Lanao del Norte, North Cotabato, Palawan, Sarangani, South Cotabato, Sultan Kudarat, Zamboanga del Norte, Zamboanga del Sur, and Zamboanga Sibugay. It is also conducted in the cities of Cotabato, Dapitan, Dipolog, Digos, General Santos, Iligan, Isabela City, Koronadal City, Marawi City, Pagadian City, Puerto Princesa City, Tacurong City and Zamboanga City.

Only Basilan province (excluding Isabela City, which remained as part of the Zamboanga Peninsula region) and the city of Marawi voted for inclusion in the new region.

November 26, 2001: Election for the expanded ARMM is held. Parouk Hussin and Mahid Mutilan are elected as governor and vice-governor.

August 8, 2005: ARMM Regional election is held. Zaldy Ampatuan and Amsaruddin-Abdulmalik Adiong are elected as governor and vice governor.

August 11,2008: Automated election for the ARMM is held. —Research by Jesus Llanto and Fharhana Abdurahim/Newsbreak


- Final Pre-election Report by Foreign (ANFREL) observers

- Comelec's presentation on ARMM Election Automation

- Number of registered voters per province

- Lesson for the ARMM polls: New problems accompany election automation

- ARMM poll postponement bill certified as urgent

- Lawmakers quiz sudden meet for ARMM poll postponement