Metro cities reiterate regulations vs firecrackers


Posted at Dec 29 2017 07:07 PM

MANILA - As New Year's Eve draws near, several city governments reminded the public of designated firecracker zones and the ban on several firecrackers to ensure a safe welcome to 2018. 

In Taguig, seven out of 28 barangays have implemented a total ban on firecrackers, designating the following areas as firecracker zones: 

  • Calzada (in front of Calzada barangay hall)
  • Palingon
  • Pk 1 F. Dingguin Bayan Open Court
  • Pk 2 Bantayan
  • Ligid-Tipas
  • Plaza Bonifacio
  • Open space parking area near barangay hall
  • Sta. Ana - Plaza Quezon
  • Tuktukan
  • Bagong Calzada (in front of the cemetery)
  • Vacant lot (Mabini Street)
  • Bambang (vacant lot near barangay hall)
  • Wawa (vacant lot beside barangay hall)
  • San Miguel (open space near barangay health center at Bay Breeze)
  • Lower Bicutan (Lakeshore Hall parking area)
  • Bagumbayan (Paso Park and at the back of Cayetano Complex)
  • Hagonoy Complex
  • New Lower Bicutan (C6 Highway)
  • Ususan Baseball Stadium
  • Napindan - Samama (Dulo)
  • South Daang Hari
  • Hapay half court P14
  • Extension of P10 and P11 main road 
  • P13 near outpost
  • Central Signal
  • Zone 8 corner Ballecer Street in front of Em’s Elementary School
  • Zone 9 corner Ballecer Street in front of Signal Village National High School
  • Katuparan (open space of the materials recovery facility)
  • Bonifacio High Street at Fort Bonifacio

In Makati City, fireworks and pyrotechnics are banned in 12 of its 33 barangays:

  • Bangkal
  • Magallanes
  • Pio del Pilar 
  • Rizal
  • Cembo
  • East Rembo
  • Northside
  • Pinagkaisahan
  • Carmona
  • Olympia
  • San Antonio
  • Sta. Cruz 

A city ordinance in Quezon City, meanwhile, prohibits selling and giving firecrackers to children, as well as sharing the prohibited items with minors.

Violators of City Ordinance 2587-2017 will face imprisonment of one year or a fine of P5,000, or both, the Quezon City government said in a statement Friday.

President Rodrigo Duterte's Executive Order No. 28 bans firecrackers in households or places of residence nationwide. Only community fireworks displays, supervised by a trained person licensed by the Philippine National Police, will be allowed. 

The use of the following firecrackers are also banned:

  • Super lolo
  • Whistle bomb
  • Goodbye Earth
  • Atomic big triangulo
  • Piccolo
  • Judas belt
  • Watusi

The Department of Health has recorded 42 firecracker-related injuries between Dec. 21 to Dec. 27.