Flood warnings across the country as 'Nina' nears


Posted at Dec 25 2016 02:42 PM

Residents of Narra, Palawan evacuate ahead of Typhoon Nina, which is expected to bring floods to large portions of the country. Sharon Evite, ABS-CBN News

MANILA – Disaster officials issued flood warnings in large swaths of the country ahead of Typhoon “Nina” (international name: Nock-Ten), which will slam the eastern coast on Christmas Day.

At least three dams in Bulacan province, Angat, Ipo and Bustos have begun to spill water to prevent an overflow, officials said.

Flood warnings were issued in Zambales, Bataan, Aurora, Bulacan, Tarlac Bataan, Laguna, Cavite, Quezon, Rizal, Palawan, Oriental Mindoro, Occidental Mindoro, Marinduque, Catanduanes, Camarines Norte, Camarines Sur, Albay, Sorsogon

"Nina," which packs maximum sustained winds of 185 kilometers per hour with gusts of up to 255 kph, was expected to hit Catanduanes province late Sunday before cutting across Southern Luzon.

The storm is expected to bring moderate to heavy rains within its 500-kilometer radius.

Rains unrelated to "Nina" also prompted flood warnings in Cebu, Negros Oriental, Bohol, Leyte Eastern Samar, Northern Samar, Southern Leyte, Samar, Davao del Norte, Davao del Sur, Davao Oriental, Compostella Valley, Agusan del Norte, Agusan del Sur, Surigao del Sur, Surigao del Norte, and Dinagat Islands.

Angat dam currently has an elevation 211.34 meters, which is lower than the 213-meter elevation recorded earlier. The dam has a spilling level of 212 meters, weather bureau PAGASA said.

More gates could be opened depending on the rains on Sunday and Monday.

Ipo dam currently has an elevation level of 101.03 meters while Bustos dam is releasing 85 cubic meters of water per second.

PAGASA said it was also closely monitoring San Roque and Magat dams in the northern province of Isabela, which are near spilling levels.

Water from Magat dam will affect the towns of Ramon, San Mateo, Aurora, Cabatuan, Luna, Reina Mercedes, and Naguilian.

Water from San Roque dam will affect the towns of San Manuel San Nicolas, Tayug, Sta. Maria, Villasis, Asingan, Rosales, Alcala, Bautista, and Bayambang.