Signal no. 2 raised in parts of Visayas as Christmas storm 'Ursula' intensifies


Posted at Dec 23 2019 09:45 PM | Updated as of Dec 24 2019 04:10 AM

PAGASA image

MANILA(UPDATE)—Tropical Cyclone Wind Signal no. 2 has been raised in parts of the Visayas as tropical storm Ursula strengthened Monday, state weather agency PAGASA said.

The country's 21st and potentially last storm this year was last located 530 kilometers east of Surigao City, Surigao del Norte at 10 p.m., packing maximum sustained winds of 85 kilometers per hour (kph) and 105 kph gusts, said PAGASA.

Between noon tomorrow and Christmas day, occasional to frequent heavy rains over Dinagat Islands, Siargao and Bucas Grande Islands, Eastern Visayas, Sorsogon, Masbate, northern and central Cebu, northern Negros Provinces, Aklan, Antique, Capiz, Iloilo, Guimaras and Romblon are expected.

Light to moderate with intermittent heavy rains over the rest of Bicol Region, Quezon, Marinduque, Oriental Mindoro, and the rest of Visayas and Surigao del Norte will be felt. 

While on Christmas day, occasional to frequent heavy rains will be experienced at Aklan, Antique, Capiz, Romblon, Marinduque, Oriental Mindoro, Occidental Mindoro, Batangas, and Calamian Islands.

Light to moderate with intermittent heavy rains are expected at places like Cuyo Islands, Negros Provinces, Iloilo, Guimaras, Aurora, and the rest of Calabarzon.

‘Ursula’ is expected to gradually intensify before landfall over Eastern Samar Tuesday afternoon or evening.

Here is the list of storm signals raised in parts of the country:

  • Eastern Samar    
  • Samar
  • Leyte
  • Biliran 


  • Quezon
  • Laguna
  • Batangas
  • Camarines Sur
  • Camarines Norte
  • Catanduanes
  • Albay
  • Marinduque
  • Romblon
  • Occidental Mindoro including Lubang Island
  • Oriental Mindoro
  • Sorsogon
  • Masbate including Ticao and Burias Islands
  • Cuyo Islands


  • Northern Samar
  • Southern Leyte
  • Northern Cebu
  • Central Cebu 
  • Northeastern Bohol
  • Aklan
  • Antique
  • Capiz
  • Iloilo
  • Guimaras
  • Northern Negros Occidental
  • Northern Negros Oriental


  • Dinagat Islands
  • Surigao del Norte 
  • Siargao 
  • Bucas Grande Islands

Visit the ABS-CBN Weather Center for more updates.