CA confirms appointments of DOTr chief, 2 others


Posted at Dec 13 2016 04:07 PM

Mike Sueno, Art Tugade, and Mark Villar File Photo/Composite

MANILA – The powerful Commission on Appointments (CA) has approved in its plenary session the appointments of key members of the Cabinet of President Rodrigo Duterte.

The CA en banc has approved the ad interim appointments of Interior Secretary Ismael Sueno, Transportation Secretary Arthur Tugade, and Public Works Secretary Mark Villar.

The CA also approved in plenary the appointments of Teddy Locsin Jr. as the Philippines' permanent representative to the United Nations (UN), four other ambassadors, and 17 foreign service officers.

Locsin, a former Makati representative, breezed through the committee level for his nomination, and did not undergo the usual "question and answer" part. Senator Vicente Sotto III said this has been the practice for nominees who are former members of Congress "of good standing."

The CA shall now submit a report to President Rodrigo Duterte on action taken on the nomination of the envoys when Congress adjourns.