JBC shortlists 10 candidates for SC associate justice post


Posted at Dec 07 2018 07:08 PM

MANILA - The Judicial and Bar Council has shortlisted 10 nominees to take the place of Supreme Court Associate Justice Noel Tijam, who will retire in January.

Court of Appeals justices Manuel Barrios, Japar Dimaampao, and Amy Lazaro-Javier each obtained 6 votes, while fellow CA justices Amparao Cabotaje-Tang, Ramon Cruz, Ramon Garcia, and Mario Lopez got 5 votes.

CA justice Apolinario Bruselas Jr., Court Administrator Jose Midas Marquez, and former Ateneo Law School Dean Cesar Villanueva got 4 votes.

Not included in the shortlist of nominees is Sandiganbayan Associate Justice Efren de la Cruz who dissented to former senator Bong Revilla's acquittal from plunder in his pork barrel scam case.

--Report from Mike Navallo, ABS-CBN News