Duterte signs law moving barangay, SK polls to December 2022

Arianne Merez, ABS-CBN News

Posted at Dec 03 2019 06:50 PM

MANILA - President Rodrigo Duterte signed on Tuesday a law delaying the barangay and Sangguniang Kabataan elections to 2022.

The President moved the polls to Dec. 5, 2022 instead of the scheduled May 11, 2020 elections, which allows incumbent officials to stay in office for half a decade.

This also means that there will be 2 elections in 2022: the presidential elections in May and the synchronized barangay and SK elections seven months later.

The last barangay elections were held in May 2018 by virtue of a law Duterte signed postponing the October 2017 polls.

Under the new law, all incumbent barangay and SK officials shall remain in office until the 2022 elections unless they are removed or suspended for a cause. 

Barangay and SK officials, meanwhile, who will be elected in the 2022 elections would assume office on Jan. 1, 2023. Subsequent elections will happen every 3 years thereafter.