Supreme Court partially reorganizes 3 divisions, assigns new chairpersons


Posted at Nov 22 2018 04:19 PM

MANILA - The Supreme Court has reorganized its 3 divisions and installed new chairpersons "in the interest of the service," an order received by reporters Thursday said.

The first division is chaired by Associate Justice Lucas Bersamin, with members Associate Justices Mariano Del Castillo, Francis Jardeleza, Noel Tijam, and Alexander Gesmundo.

Acting Chief Justice Antonio Carpio meanwhile heads the second division, with members Associate Justices Estela Perlas-Bernabe, Alfredo Benjamin Caguioa, Andres Reyes, and Jose Reyes.

The third division is headed by Associate Justice Diosdado Peralta. He is joined by Associate Justices Marvic Leonen, Alexander Gesmundo, Jose Reyes, and Ramon Paul Hernando as the members.

The reorganization was effective since October 11. It came after the retirement of Chief Justice Teresita Leonardo De Castro and the appointment of Hernando as a member of the tribunal to replace Samuel Martires who was designated as the Ombudsman.

- report from Mike Navallo, ABS-CBN News