Duterte reappoints Cabinet men bypassed by the CA

RG Cruz, ABS-CBN News

Posted at Nov 21 2016 06:45 PM

Duterte reappoints Cabinet men bypassed by the CA 1

MANILA - President Rodrigo Duterte has renewed the ad interim appointments of Cabinet members and nomination of ambassadors whose appointments and nominations were bypassed by the Commission on Appointments when Congress went on a break in October.

The CA has received the appointments, all dated October 20, 2016, of the following Cabinet members:

  • Agriculture Secretary Emmanuel Piñol
  • Agrarian Reform Secretary Rafael Mariano
  • Education Secretary Leonor Briones
  • Foreign Affairs Secretary Perfecto Yasay Jr.
  • Information and Communications Secretary Rodolfo Salalima
  • Interior and Local Government Secretary Ismael Sueno
  • Health Secretary Paulyn Jean R. Ubial
  • Justice Secretary Vitaliano Aguirre II
  • Science and Technology Secretary Fortunato dela Peña
  • Tourism Secretary Wanda Corazon Teo
  • Transportation Secretary Arthur Tugade
  • Public Works Secretary Mark Villar
  • Social Welfare Secretary Judy Taguiwalo
  • Trade and Industry Secretary Ramon Lopez
  • Socioeconomic Planning Secretary Ernesto Pernia

The CA also received the nominations of the following ambassadors:

  • Uriel Norman Garibay, Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary (AEP)To Kenya, nominated October 21, 2016
  • Eduardo Kapunan, AEP to Myanmar, nominated November 9, 2016
  • James Lao, AEP to Brunei, nominated November 8, 2016
  • Jose Laurel, AEP to Japan, nominated October 21, 2016
  • Teodoro Locsin, Permanent Representative to the UN, nominated October 21, 2016
  • Jose Santiago Santa Romana, AEP to the People's Republic of China, nominated October 21, 2016
  • Shirley Vicario, AEP to Nigeria , nominated October 21, 2016

The president had to issue another set of appointments for the bypassed Cabinet members as failure to do so may lead to the actions of the bypassed appointees and nominees being questioned.