South Korea announces 3 ways to get 'visa-free' entry


Posted at Nov 08 2019 04:25 PM

South Korea announces 3 ways to get 'visa-free' entry 1
A tourist takes a photo at a park in Jeju Island.

MANILA – Planning a vacation to the land of K-drama and K-pop? Filipinos can avail of the following options. 

The embassy of the Republic of Korea in the Philippines on Thursday said there are 3 ways on how travelers could go to the country visa-free.

On its website, the embassy said visa-free entry are accommodated to (1) tourists in transit to third countries, (2) foreign transfer passengers; and (3) visitors to Jeju area.

Tourists transiting through Korea are granted visa-free entry except for nationals from 24 excluded countries, including Syria, Iraq, Pakistan. 

Also eligible for the first category are travelers who hold visas to the United States, or Canada, Australia, and New Zealand or those with visa or permanent residency to at least one of the 30 European countries who transit through Korea bound for the country of origin or a third country. 

The embassy said the condition of stay requires a "confirmed flight ticket for departure within 30 days after entering Korea" in addition to having no criminal record in countries mentioned, and have not been denied entry into Korea or deported in the past 3 years.

For foreign transfer passengers, eligible applicants are those transferring through the Incheon Airport and taking part in the Transit Tourism Program on their way to a third country or country of origin or those referred to as "general transfer passengers."

However, citizens from 24 countries that need visas to enter Jeju Island are not included.

General transfer passengers should have a transfer ticket to be able to stay in the Seoul capital for up to 72 hours, while Jeju transfer passengers or Chinese tourist groups organized by a Korean travel agency under the Transit Tourism Program with tickets for a domestic flight or ship to Jeju are allowed to stay for up to 15 days.

The third way for travelers to get to Korea visa-free is by flying directly to Jeju Island. Travelers are allowed to stay on the island for 30 days.

For a more detailed information, visit the Visa Announcement section of the Embassy of the Republic of Korea in the Philippines.