23 areas under Signal No. 1 as Rosita approaches Northern Luzon


Posted at Oct 29 2018 01:29 AM | Updated as of Oct 29 2018 08:09 AM

23 areas under Signal No. 1 as Rosita approaches Northern Luzon 1

MANILA -- State weather bureau PAGASA on Sunday has placed 23 areas under Tropical Cyclone Warning Signal No. 1 as Typhoon Rosita (international name: Yutu) approaches Northern Luzon.

In its 11 p.m. advisory, PAGASA said Rosita was last spotted at 645 kilometers east of Tuguegarao City, Cagayan. It is packing maximum sustained winds of 180 kilometer per hour (kph) near the center, with gusts of up to 220 kph.

The typhoon is moving west at 20 kph.

The following areas has been placed under Signal No. 1: 

  • Ilocos Norte
  • Ilocos Sur
  • La Union
  • Pangasinan
  • Abra
  • Apayao
  • Benguet
  • Ifugao
  • Kalinga
  • Mountain Province
  • Batanes
  • Cagayan including Babuyan Group of Islands
  • Isabela
  • Nueva Vizcaya
  • Quirino
  • Aurora
  • Bulacan
  • Nueva Ecija
  • Pampanga
  • Tarlac
  • Northern Quezon including Polillo Island
  • Rizal
  • Camarines Norte

PAGASA said it may raise Signal No. 2 over Cagayan, Isabela, Quirino, and Aurora by Monday morning.

Strong to very strong winds and moderate to heavy rains are also expected over Northern and Central Luzon by Monday night.

Flooding and landslides are also possible in said areas.

Rosita is expected to make landfall over Isabel-Aurora area by Tuesday morning.