UP Cebu's Bucoy is new Commision on Women head


Posted at Oct 10 2016 01:06 PM

MANILA - President Duterte has appointed Dr. Rhodora Masilang-Bucoy as chairperson of the Philippine Commission on Women (PCW) effective Monday.

Bucoy, a retired associate professor of political science and gender studies at the University of the Philippines (UP) Cebu, is set to take her oath of office before Duterte on Tuesday.

"I am deeply honored to serve as Chairperson of the Commission that is mandated to lead in bringing about gender equality and empowerment of the Filipino woman," Bucoy said in a statement.

"Despite my varied experiences in the work of women empowerment, I approach this challenging post with a mix of trepidation and hope. I am anxious that I may not be able to cover as much ground as I want to, but am also full of hope that, with the help of the dedicated members of the PCW, every Filipina will be encouraged to work for her own full empowerment," she added.

Bucoy also said the PCW must lobby for the passage of women-friendly laws; assist in the pursuit of gender-responsive governance; and, campaign for the elimination of gender stereotyping in the mass media and the school curriculum.

Before her latest assignment, Bucoy served as PCW commissioner representing the academe from August 2013 to June 2016. She pushed for the concerns of indigenous women and the introduction of a gender-fair curriculum into the K to 12 program of the Department of Education (DepEd).

She also helped establish in 2003 the Sidlak Gender Resource Center in Central Visayas, which spearheads training programs on gender and development.

Her unwavering efforts in human rights and women's advocacy earned her accolades like the Human Rights Defender's; the Justice German Lee Awards on Transformative Leadership; and the Tatak UP Alumni Award for Outstanding Public Service in Women Empowerment.

Bucoy is also the vice president of the United Nations University Regional Center of Expertise on Education for Sustainable Development in Cebu, and a member of the Regional Development Council Sub-Committee on Gender and Development.