3 impeachment raps poised vs Morales, lawyer says

RG Cruz, ABS-CBN News

Posted at Oct 09 2017 10:24 PM

Three impeachment complaints will be filed against Ombudsman Conchita Carpio Morales, a lawyer said Monday.

Lawyer Manuelito Luna told ABS-CBN News that one complaint will be filed by Greco Belgica and Tanggulang Demokrasya over alleged selective justice in the PDAF and DAP cases and the inordinate delay of cases. 

Another complaint to be handled by lawyer Ferdinand Topacio will be filed by the families of the SAF 44 over the handling of the Mamasapano massacre case, including the downgrading of charges against former President Noynoy Aquino. 

The third complaint to be handled by former congressmen Glen Chong and Jacinto Paras over the supposed conspiracy by Overall Deputy Ombudsman Art Carandang and Morales to divulge information on an ongoing investigation.

Luna claimed that congressmen will endorse the complaints after President Duterte said an impeachment complaint should be filed against Morales after the Ombudsman announced it was looking into his alleged bank accounts.

Luna said the complaints will meet the basic requirements for a valid impeachment complaint.

The Paras-Topacio complaint against Comelec Chair Andres Bautista and the Dante Jimenez-Eligio Mallari complaint against Supreme Court Chief Justice Maria Lourdes Sereno were dismissed by the Justice Committee for not having sufficient form because of a defective verification. Verification is valid if it the complainant’s allegation is based personal knowledge and /or authentic documents.

As this developed, lawmakers, mostly from the Liberal Party, signed a resolution of support for the independence and integrity of the Ombudsman. Among those who signed are Representatives Raul Daza, Blu Abaya, Law Fortun, Rav Rocamora, Jocelyn Limkaichong, Rene Relampagos, Strike Revilla, Bolet Banal, Miro Quimbo, Raul del Mar, Malous Acosta-Alba, Emmanuel Billones, Kaka Bag-ao, Kit Belmonte, Gabriel Bordado, Christopher de Venecia, Edgar Erice, Edcel Lagman, Tom Villarin, Edgar Mary Sarmiento, Isagani Amatong, Vicente Alcala, Vilma Santos-Recto, Josephine Ramirez-Sato, Cheryl Deloso-Montalla, and Benjie Agarao.

Morales was appointed by President Benigno Aquino.

Meanwhile, Ifugao Rep Teddy Baguilat explained why there is no resolution of support for Chief Justice Maria Lourdes Sereno, who like Morales, is an Aquino appointee.

“There may have been no opportunity to prepare a resolution in support for CJ Sereno and the independence of the judiciary but our position can be expressed through our vote on the impeachment case. Biglaan kasi yung pagka-file. Unlike sa Ombudsman na this resolution was in reaction to the pronouncements of the President and the threat of impeachment raps in Congress.”