Chief Justice De Castro designates senior magistrates to SET, HRET

Ina Reformina, ABS-CBN News

Posted at Sep 30 2018 03:10 PM

MANILA - Chief Justice Teresita Leonardo-de Castro ordered the designation of the most senior Supreme Court magistrates as representatives to the Senate and House electoral tribunals.

De Castro issued Special Order No. 2589, designating the most senior members of the high court in the electoral tribunals, effective August 28.

Senior Associate Justice Antonio Carpio was retained as chair of the Senate Electoral Tribunal (SET). He will be joined by associate justices Lucas Bersamin and Estela Perlas-Bernabe.

SET handles poll protests by senatorial bets. It is currently hearing the protest of Presidential Adviser for Political Affairs Francis Tolentino against detained Senator Leila De Lima. 

De Lima placed 12th during the May 2016 elections, while Tolentino came in 13th.

Associate Justice Diosdado Peralta was designated chair of the House of Representatives Electoral Tribunal (HRET). His members are associate justices Mariano Del Castillo and Marvic Leonen. 

De Castro also issued Special Order No. 2590 designating Carpio to head the Supreme Court en banc raffle committee, with Bersamin and Peralta as members.

Peralta was designated chairman of the division raffle committee, with Del Castillo and Leonen as members.