DFA suspends consular services in some provinces as Ompong looms


Posted at Sep 14 2018 08:46 AM

MANILA - The Department of Foreign Affairs on Friday suspended services in several consular offices as Typhoon Ompong barrels closer towards the northern part of Luzon.

Operations in the following DFA Consular Offices have been suspended "from September 14 to 15 and until further notice":

  • Angeles, Pampanga
  • San Fernando, Pampanga
  • Calasiao, Pangasinan
  • San Fernando, La Union
  • Santiago, Isabela
  • Sta. Maria, Ilocos Sur
  • Tuguegarao, Cagayan

"Applicants with confirmed passport appointments on those dates when the operations were suspended will be accommodated on later dates which will be announced once the consular office reopens," the DFA said in a statement.

As of 7 a.m., storm signals have been raised in 41 areas.

Ompong is expected to make landfall in Cagayan province on Saturday, and leave the Philippine Area of Responsibility by Sunday morning.