Alejano: Trillanes filed amnesty application, took oath

RG Cruz, ABS-CBN News

Posted at Sep 10 2018 11:16 PM

MANILA - Magdalo Party-list Rep. Gary Alejano on Monday delivered a privilege speech denouncing the revocation of the amnesty granted by the Aquino administration to Senator Antonio Trillanes.

"This is a clear political persecution against Senator Trillanes through a unilateral decision of the president employing baseless allegations," he said.

Alejano said Trillanes complied with requirements. 

"I can attest personally he filed personally and took an oath before the administering officer. Sabay po kami nag-apply on that day January 5, 2011. Nineteen officers applied kasama si Senator Trillanes at 20 na enlisted personnel. Nandoon po ako. Kitang-kita po na siya nag-apply at nanumpa sa kaniyang application," he said.

"The amnesty applications already contain the admission of guilt," Alejano added.

He accused the Duterte administration of losing Trillanes’ documents. 

"Yung mga dokumento nasa poder nila sila rin ang nagwala...There should be an assumption of regularity sa lahat ng proseso na ginagawa ng gobyerno," he said.

"Hindi dapat binabalikan ng presidente ang kaniyang personal na kinagagalitan," Alejano added.

President Rodrigo Duterte, in a proclamation released last week, voided Trillanes' amnesty because of his alleged failure to apply for it properly and express guilt for his crimes. 

Trillanes' fellow mutineers are also facing a review of their amnesty, chief presidential legal counsel Salvador Panelo said. 

Some of those who were with Trillanes during the 2003 and 2007 uprisings are currently serving in government. Among them are Alejano, Civil Defense Deputy Administrator Nicanor Faeldon, and MMDA Chairman Danilo Lim.

As a Navy lieutenant, Trillanes and his Magdalo band of soldiers and junior officers occupied the Oakwood Hotel in 2003 and the Manila Peninsula Hotel in 2007 to protest alleged corruption under Arroyo.

Trillanes won a seat in the Senate in 2007, campaigning from detention. He was reelected in 2013.