ABS-CBN journalist Christian Esguerra receives CMFR's 2019 award of distinction


Posted at Aug 29 2019 01:15 PM | Updated as of Aug 29 2019 02:43 PM

MANILA - ABS-CBN journalist Christian Esguerra received the 2019 award of distinction from the Center for Media Freedom and Responsibility (CMFR) while multimedia journalist Patricia Evangelista is this year’s Marshall McLuhan fellow.

Esguerra on Thursday was cited by the CMFR for “his untiring efforts to interpret the meaning of events and explain the issues in the news that confront Filipinos in these difficult times” and for “providing a model for journalism, enhancing the relevance of news and revitalizing the values of truth and freedom in its practice”.

Esguerra received the award at the conclusion of the Jaime V. Ongpin (JVO) Journalism Seminar, where he also served as a panelist.

The annual seminar is organized by the Center for Media Freedom and Responsibility. 

Evangelista, meanwhile, received the award from the Embassy of Canada’s Political and Public Affairs counselor Warren Mucci.

The McLuhan fellow is chosen from the JVO panelists.

This year’s JVO panelists included Esguerra, his fellow ABS-CBN journalist Chiara Zambrano, Rappler's Evangelista and Rambo Talabong, TV5 journalist and former McLuhan fellow Ed Lingao, GMA7’s Jun Veneracion, and Philippine Center for Investigative Journalism’s Malou Mangahas. 

Mucci lauded Evangelista for her "passion for the craft (that) transcends various media platforms” and “skillful proficiency” in bringing marginalized stories to the mainstream. 

Established in 1997, the prestigious Marshall McLuhan Fellowship is awarded yearly to a recipient "embodying outstanding qualities in the field of investigative journalism."

The fellow will travel to universities across Canada and the Philippines to deliver lectures on a chosen topic in journalism.

Previous McLuhan fellows include Jeff Canoy (2018), Manny Mogato (2017), Gigi Grande (2016), Joseph Morong (2015), Cheche Lazaro (2014), Lynda Jumilla (2012), Glenda Gloria (2008), Inday Varona (2007), Gerry Lirio (2006), Yvonne Chua (2000, 2005), Ellen Tordesillas (1999) and Sheila Coronel (1998).