Presidential appointees given 7 days to resign


Posted at Aug 22 2016 08:29 PM | Updated as of Aug 22 2016 08:56 PM

Galvante, Delgra not being asked to resign

MANILA (UPDATED) - President Rodrigo Duterte has given all presidential appointees seven days to file their resignation, after he declared over the weekend all appointive government posts vacant. 

The Office of the President released a memorandum requiring presidential appointees to tender their "unqualified courtesy resignations" within seven days.

All presidential appointees are to leave their posts, except for newly appointed Cabinet secretaries, undersecretaries and assistant secretaries and officials in the executive department, including state universities and colleges (SUC) and government-owned or -controlled corporations (GOCC) appointed by the incumbent president.

Career officials and those in the judiciary are also not affected by the memorandum.

The courtesy resignations shall be submitted to the heads of departments, the memo says. 

Affected officials shall continue to report for work and perform their tasks until the President has taken action on their resignation, it also says. 

Land Transportation and Franchising Regulatory Board (LTFRB) chief Martin Delgra and Land Transportation Office (LTO) chief Ed Galvante both expressed their willingness to comply with the President's order. 

Both Galvante and Delgra are officials appointed by the incumbent president and are thus not covered by this memorandum, said Presidential Communications Office Secretary Martin Andanar. 

On Sunday, Duterte said he was declaring all appointive government positions vacant since some officials have not heeded his call to stop corruption, singling out the LTO and LTFRB.